Once I lost my workout partner, my cycle of fail went a little like this:
1) Realize I hadn't been going to the gym for a couple weeks or months (gasp!), usually because I saw some ripped dude at the beach.
2) Discovered new dedication because of my jealousy toward the ripped dude.
3) Planned a workout schedule which included 15 minutes of cardio, 20 minutes of weights, and 15 minutes in the sauna. Three times a week, of course.
4) Stuck to that strict schedule for about a week and slowly but surely fall off that gym wagon.
I changed all that when I turned 30.
Since dropping the gym routine, I am actually enjoying my exercise. Taking the bike our for a ride, alone or with my six year old, swimming laps at the local outdoor pool or Barton Springs, push ups, pull ups, walking, I could go on and on.
If you are getting results from your time at the gym and/or you enjoy the time you spend getting there, working out, and traveling home, good for you! You have great focus, and/or are taking some serious supplementation.
But, if you are on a merry-go-round of on again, of again with the gym, give up! Yes, give up the gym for good. Instead, find ways to workout wherever you can. Push-ups in the office. Taking the stairs, going for a brisk walk. You can be "working out" for hours a day without even realizing it, all by being mindful of the opporunities that are available to you. The people who fail to do this are the same people who wait for the perfect parking space in the gym, so they don't have to walk a bit extra, only to jump on the treadmill!
"Whey" messes up my intestinal system and makes me feel bloated. I loose energy and cannot run/lift like I should be able to. I do my protein intake the old fashioned way...eggs. I hard-boil 8+ of them at a time. Think it sounds weird? Not as weird as ingesting whey protein. With eggs, you are not just getting protein, but are lucky enough to be consuming good 'ol Omega-3s (yolk). You know, the stuff that makes your brain, skin, nails, hair, etc. look better?
With hard-boiled eggs, you just grab one out of the fridge, peel, and enjoy. Gotta love them. Easy to make also:
* Put eggs on pot with water fully covering eggs.
*Bring water to boil. Cover pot to bring to boil faster.
*Low boil for 2 minutes.
*Stove off and let eggs sit in hot water for 10 minutes.
*Place in bowl in fridge to cool them.
-If you want to eat one on the spot, put some ice in a cup of cool water and place egg inside for a couple minutes.
-Slather some hummus on that egg for added taste.